Western Martial Arts Come To Eldersburg Maryland

A lot of people wonder what I mean about western martial arts and why would I want to teach that at my gym.  Well I have never been a fan of having to wear a Gi or uniform.  I like to fight in what I would normally wear on the street.  I have never been a fan of the belt system as I feel it is subjective and in a lot of cases political.  What I like about the western arts is it just putting in your sweat and work.  No worry about what belt you are people will recognize your level by your performance in class.  So what are the arts I am talking about.  Both  boxing and wrestling originated in Greece but I am going to talk about the modern versions of both which originated in the west.

“The Marquess of Queensbury rules (0r modern boxing today) rules were drafted by John Chambers for amateur championships held at Lillie Bridge in London…The rules were published under the marquess of Queensbury, whose name has always been associated with them.”  We teach boxing as part of our kids MMA program as well as boxing fitness and currently teaching some amateurs and professional boxers.

“In 1871, JG Chambers …endeavored to promote a new system of wrestling at Little Bridge…which he denominated catch as catch can..”  Shaddock MMA Fitness has become affiliated with the International Submission Wrestling Alliance.  John Shaddock is studying under Kris Iatskevich and Boyd Ritchie founders of ISWA. This style combines the pinning of folkstyle and Olympic wrestling with the submissions of Judo and Jiujitsu.

If you want to come learn some western martial arts such as boxing or catch wrestling come to Shaddock MMA Fitness.  No Bowing, no belts no BS just flat out training.

I hope to see you on the mat,

Keep your hands up,

John “The Original Bones” Shaddock

Leave a Reply

