Why Should Your Child Do Kids MMA and Fitness Class In Sykesville

I began wrestling at age 3.  I was a rough and tumble kid and can only imagine what I would have done if they had Kids MMA and Fitness classes when I was growing up.  I would have been there every day if I could have. Our classes combine fitness with basic skill drills and games of kick boxing, submission wrestling and school boy wrestling.  Unfortunately, there are a lot of reasons why people don’t want their kids to do an MMA class,  because the associate MMA with blood and violence.  The truth is the classes at Shaddock MMA and Fitness are different  then people think and quite safe. The following are reasons you might want to reconsider Shaddock MMA and Fitness classes for your (4-11 year old).

Although I teach kick boxing for a portion of the classes, the kids will never spar.   I believe it is not safe for young children to be doing full contact fighting. That being said your children will learn to throw punches and kicks correctly and to be able to hit the bags.

I also have a portion of the classes where I teach a submission fighting section similar to jiujitsu.  I do not teach submissions however.  I teach basic positioning and escapes.  I feel children at a young age should not be performing submissions on each other because it could cause injury.

In the wrestling portion of the class we teach school boy style wrestling that they do in high school and follow all rules of competition. Your children will learn the basics.

Unlike most sports now a days where everyone gets a trophy we see the importance of winning and losing.  We have a variety of games that the kids play that have a winner and loser.  I even have one on one competitions in wrestling and submission grappling where the kids compete for points.

In an age with video games, cell phones and basically non-active children, I think a class like this is very important.  With the growing problems of bullying in the schools it is imperative that our kids feel confident enough to stand up for themselves.

We still have room in our homeschool classes and our Saturday morning classes.  If you would like to find out more you can email me at 443-280-0812.

Sincerely,

Coach John Shaddock

shaddockmma.com

Leave a comment